PIONEER VALLEY METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION MEMBERS

The Pioneer Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) implements and oversees the 3C transportation planning process in the Pioneer Valley region. The objective of the 3C transportation planning process is to assist, support, and provide the capability to maintain an open **comprehensive**, **cooperative**, **and continuing** transportation planning and programming process at all levels of government in conformance with applicable federal and state requirements and guidelines. The Pioneer Valley MPO was restructured in August of 2006 to enhance the role of the local communities in the transportation planning process and allow local MPO members to represent sub regional districts respective to community size and geographic location. The number of voting members was increased from eight to ten and consists of the following officials or their designee or alternate.

- The Secretary and CEO of the Massachusetts Department of Transportation
- The Administrator of the Massachusetts Department of Transportation Highway Division
- The Chairman of the Pioneer Valley Planning Commission
- The Administrator of the Pioneer Valley Transit Authority
- The Mayors of two of the following three (3) urban core cities:

Chicopee Holyoke Springfield

• The Mayor or a Selectman of one of the following four (4) cities and towns:

Agawam Southwick Westfield

West Springfield

• The Mayor or a Selectman of one of the following five (5) cities and towns:

Amherst Easthampton Hadley

Northampton South Hadley

A Selectman of one of the following fourteen (14) suburban and rural towns:

Belchertown Brimfield East Longmeadow
Granby Hampden Holland
Longmeadow Ludlow Monson
Palmer Pelham Wales

Ware Wilbraham

• A Selectman of one of the following seventeen (17) suburban and rural towns:

BlandfordChesterChesterfieldCummingtonGoshenGranvilleHatfieldHuntingtonMiddlefieldMontgomeryPlainfieldRussellSouthamptonTollandWesthampton

Williamsburg Worthington

In addition, the Joint Transportation Committee (JTC) Chairman, and one representative each from the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), the Federal Transit Administration (FTA), the Chair of the Infrastructure Committee of the Western Massachusetts Economic Development Council (EDC), the five (5) alternate community MPO representatives, and one representative each from both the Massachusetts Department of Transportation Highway Division District One and District Two Offices shall be considered ex-officio, non-voting members of the Pioneer Valley MPO. Alternate members shall be additional chief elected officials from each of the above-cited categories of communities and he/she shall be eligible to attend, participate and vote at MPO meetings in the event that the primary member cannot attend.

Pioneer Valley MPO Members

Name	Title
Stephanie Pollack	Secretary and CEO of the Massachusetts Department of
-	Transportation
Thomas J. Tinlin	Administrator of the Massachusetts Department of Transportation
	Highway Division
Walter Gunn	Chairman of the Pioneer Valley Executive Committee
Mary MacInnes	Administrator of the Pioneer Valley Transit Authority
Mayor Domenic Sarno	Mayor of Springfield
Mayor Richard Kos	Mayor of Chicopee
Mayor Richard Cohen	Mayor of Agawam
Mayor David Narkewicz	Mayor of Northampton
George Archible	Belchertown Board of Selectmen
Marcus Boyle	Hatfield Board of Selectmen
Alternates	
Mayor Alexander Morse	City of Holyoke
Mayor Brian P. Sullivan	City of Westfield
Douglas Slaughter	Amherst Board of Selectmen
Carmina Fernandes	Ludlow Board of Selectmen
Ex-Officio (Non-Voting)	
Jeff McEwen	Federal Highway Administration
Mary Beth Mello	Federal Transit Administration
Rick Sullivan	Economic Development Council of Western Massachusetts
James Czach	Chairman – Pioneer Valley Joint Transportation Committee

